Some countries spend lot of money to make bicycle usage easier. Why is this? Is this the best solution to traffic congestion?

It has been argued that certain nations allocate a significant amount of funding to make bicycle usage convenient for riders. This measure can be attributed to a number of factors that I will discuss in the following paragraphs. Moreover, this essay will evaluate whether this is the best remedy to tackle traffic congestion or not.

To begin with, it is acknowledged that using bicycles to commute can lead to a number of plus points, convincing governments to invest in them. First of all, it is apparent that unlike cars, bicycles do not lead to increased greenhouse gas emissions, such as CO2. Therefore, they can contribute to cleaner air. In addition, riding bicycles tends to be a low-impact way of exercise, enabling individuals to enjoy a far more exciting outdoor activity than a monotonous traditional workout, regardless of their age, ranging from youngsters to the elderly. Thus, the government is able to promote physical activity, thereby improving public health.

In addition, although this measure can be beneficial in mitigating traffic volume, there is no one-size-fits-all solution for this challenge. In other words, this action can reduce the number of cars; however, there are some restrictions when it comes to bicycles. Firstly, weather/climate is considered a barrier. A rainy day could be a case in point as it is not feasible to ride a bicycle in such weather. Furthermore, riding bicycles requires a good level of physical fitness, so there are numerous citizens who cannot afford such requirements due to their physical conditions.

In conclusion, it is common practice for several countries to dedicate substantial funds to provide urban dwellers with easier access to bicycles in order to take advantage of riding bicycles. While this is considered a viable solution to reduce traffic congestion, it is not a blanket remedy for this issue due to its limitations.