Some feel that tourism endangers culture while others feel it is beneficial. DIscuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In recent times, some people claim that tourism poses a high risk to culture, whereas others believe that it is advantageous. In my view, tourism is quite beneficial for existing cultures for numerous reasons.

However, as stated before, there may be those who think that this concept is detrimental to culture. From their perspective, visitors may not be meticulous enough when they visit historical sites or museums, which may cause harm to these values. Furthermore, it is also believed that locals may even abandon their traditions because they may tend to follow the lifestyles of tourists they interact with. In Turkey, for example, elderly people always argue that young individuals are influenced by the freedom European tourists talk about while this group is also the primary reason why the country has lost many of their valuable monuments because visitors vandalise these sculptures.

On the other hand, despite these statements, I firmly believe that tourism is good for culture. Firstly, it enables communities to introduce their traditions, which contributes to local economies as well. Hence, while it enhances the welfare of the region, their cultures become renowned in society. For instance, Turkish culture has become popular among Asian people by drawing their attention with its cuisine, and this situation has made the social structure of the nation well-known across the world.

To conclude, according to some individuals, the concept of tourism has detriments to culture, while a number of people perceive it as beneficial due to the aforementioned reasons. In my opinion, tourism is the key to improve local economy and helps people promote their cultures and traditions.