Some people argue that advertising is discouraging people from being different individuals, and makes people to be or seem to be the same. Do you agree or disagree?

It cannot be denied the impacts of advertisement on consumers’ behaviors and the way of seeing the world. It is argued that people lose their individual style due to advertising and become the same and I take issue with this misconception.

There are some compelling reasons why advertisements can make people to be or seem to be the same. The most obvious justification is the spread of advertising. The development of technology and media facilitate advertising to reach consumers. People encounter advertising everywhere and at all times, creating common demands and buying psychology. Moreover, advertisements can create the standards of ideal beauty and trendy fashion. Advertising often shows the perfect model, making people change to have that look and have the same conception about beauty. People don’t want to wear outdated and old-fashioned styles, so they imitate and follow the styles which are considered correct and trendy. They think that fashionable styles will make them more confident and attractive.

However, not everyone tends to dress and follow the popular style. Firstly, some people don’t believe advertising and think that some is false and distort people’ beliefs. Many advertisements use exaggerated images and words to attract consumers. This will significantly lessen consumers’ belief in advertisement and branding. Furthermore, the trendy products are not suitable to their needs and situations. Advertisement often concentrate on some certain groups, not meet all needs. The over-appearance of advertising render somebody bothered and not interested. Additionally, people preferences change over time. The trendy styles only exist for a time, not long lasting and easily outdated. Besides, many people want to live their own style and different from others. Everyone has individual experiences and belief, and they have abilities to analyse, review and make a decision.

In conclusion, advertising cannot make people become the same. Differences and individuality are very essential in today’ age so we need to think carefully before making a choice.