Some people argue that primary schools focus too much on formal learning. To what extent do you agree with this opinion? How important do you think it is for children to play as well as learn in the primary school classroom?

One big point of contention in different approaches to learning is finding the balance between working and taking time off for oneself. It is relevant across most phases of life, especially so for children in primary schools, which is why it is often debated whether these schools focus too much on formal education. This essay shall divulge my opinion on this matter, and shall discuss the importance of this balance.

It is no secret that there are a great many benefits to encouraging children in primary schools to participate in extracurricular activities such as sports, painting, dancing, and so on. It engages the creative centers of their brains and can boost their cognitive development. There are innumerable studies that prove the boons of adapting a balanced approach to learning, where such activities are integrated into their formal education. This is precisely why I feel that several schools tend to overconentrate on formal learning, neglecting the other side of the equation.

As the old saying goes, “All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy”. This is especially applicable in this discussion, as the myriad of research that has been conducted on this topic over the years narrate the same story: leading children down a hyper-focused path of education, especially in these formative years, can have devastating consequences on their development and their mental health. On the other hand, encouraging them to balance studying with playing can in fact enable them to learn better. It can boost their motivation, which is quintessential to the sustainability of their learning efforts. Perhaps bogging them down with studies is a sure-fire way to get them to concentrate for a day or two, but imbibing this crucial lesson of balance serves them better in the decades of education and work that lie ahead.

Thus, I whole-heartedly agree with the opinion mentioned in the question, and I believe play to be as vital as learning in classrooms, as it prepares them for a healthy and balanced life ahead of them.