Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes, entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Several people argue that granting autonomy to children in their day-to-day activities like food, clothes, and entertainment might lead them to be self-centered. While others feel it can be beneficial for the children’s development if they are allowed to make their own decisions that are associated with them. Although allowing kids to make all the decisions can create a sense of selfishness, I believe that a child should have the freedom to select whatever is appropriate for them as it will instill a sense of self-dependency, and critical thinking skills in them.

On the one hand, supporters of not allowing children to make everyday decisions think that the practice would imply to the children that they can choose anything they want. This might create a loss of accountability for their actions, leading to not caring about how their decisions might affect others as long as it benefits them. For instance, many rich parents are seen complying with every wish of their child, which in the future makes them selfish and devoid of empathy.

On the other hand, proponents of allowing children to make their own decisions in everyday matters believe that it nurtures a sense of self-dependence. When children are given the opportunity, they learn to take ownership of their actions. For example, deciding matters like hobbies for themselves can develop their self-confidence and prioritize what is preferable to the child in alignment with his passion. The same can be said for other things like food, clothes, and entertainment. Moreover, these can also enhance their critical thinking skill. When children learn to weigh the consequences of their own decisions, they develop their problem-solving skills which are of great value for their future. For these reasons, I am in favor of the suggestion that kids should be given autonomy in their everyday matters.

In conclusion, granting children to make decisions for themselves empowers them to develop essential life skills, fosters independence, and cultivates responsible decision-making. By providing a supportive environment, these children can grow up to be all-rounded individuals who can fight the complexities with resilience and wisdom.