Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes, entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have differing views on allowing children to make their own choices on mundane subjects. While some argue that giving children freedom of choice in those matters could lead to self-centred individuals, I agree with those who defend this freedom for children.

There are various reasons why some people might be against a permissive upbringing. Firstly, they might assert that granting children unrestricted choices in everyday matters might lead to their inflated sense of entitlement, thereby fostering egocentric individuals. Secondly, they might argue that by permitting children to choose whatever they like, they cannot confront undesired aspects of life at an early age and thus might not become prepared for adulthood. Finally, without parental oversight of children’s choices, they are liable to indulge in inappropriate forms of entertainment and activities. For example, most children have a strong desire for sweets and, without restrictions, are likely to over-indulge and develop serious health issues.

Despite these arguments, I believe it is essential to give children freedom in making decisions. Primarily, when children are accountable for their choices, they are more likely to develop a sense of maturity and ownership at a young age, fostering an independent character. Moreover, it is important for young children to learn from their mistakes, and by restricting their choices, they may never learn to hold themselves accountable. Conversely, overly restrictive environments often produce overly dependent individuals who are unable to make decisions without external guidance and validation.

In conclusion, although some people may view restricting children’s freedom as beneficial, I believe it has significant negative consequences on a child’s character, and I think allowing them to make unrestricted choices is far more advantageous.