The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages? You should write at least 250 words.

Social media has become an integral part of lives of the world population. It has brought people closer, yet many argue that it has replaced face-to-face interactions among individuals.

Social media has turned the world into a global village, thus bringing poeple from all corners of the world together through these little devices that we call smart phones. In this day and age, one does not has to dwell in one’s niche hobbies alone. Even some of the most exclusive hobbies have groups on social media where enthusiasts and experts can share their experiences, adivice, and opinion. This is especially fruitful for individuals who suffer from social anxiety or are unable to leave their houses due to debilitating conditions, but find comfort in sharing the same interests as some of the people online. Not to mention, the education has not been become limited to schools or universities only, but you can learn any subject or topic that you are interested in through social media where there are many individuals sharing their knowledge free of cost. You could take out your phone anywhere, anytime, and learn any topic of your desire.

On the other hand, social media has siginificantly diminished the need to exit your house for entertainment. The entertainment has been brought right to your pocket. This makes the young adults and quite a lot of adults feel as if going out of the house were meaningless and they stop going out altogether, reducing the actual meaningful day-to-day interactinons. It has also created, what experts call, isolated together phenomenon. It is observed that even when many individuals are sitting togetehr, they tend to spend most of the time on their devices rather than interacting with each other like old days.

In conclusion, social media has brought many advantages to this generation of population, however, it has reduced the individual interactions among young adults leading to a distant feel in the society inspite of crowded cities.