The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years there has been noticeable growth in car ownership. Some people have an opinion that the government should develop public transportation systems and strictly monitor the number of automobiles used. I utterly concur with this point of view for the following reasons.

On the one hand, there are plenty of options for commuting. Cycling is not only the best option to improve physical health but also reduces the overall amount of carbon emissions. The buses and subways have been upgraded by the government and have become more convenient, cheaper, and available in various areas. For instance, Moscow’s roads are always overcrowded with cars, therefore most citizens tend to choose public transport to have a less negative influence on the environment as to commute without any traffic issues.

On the other hand, it is believed that the authorities should create laws to limit car ownership. Recently air pollution has increased to an enormous level that has a negative influence on the environment and only the government can impose laws to control it. As an example, the high taxes on the purchase vehicle or growing parking fees might be effective for either the environment or the economics of the country. The money from car owners’ taxes can be used to improve public transportation systems.

In conclusion, I am assured that using eco-friendly or public transport might play a significant role in reducing gas emissions, that is why governments should continually develop new commuting options for their citizens. Additionally, introducing new laws to regulate car ownership and use is also a crucial goal to create a cleaner environment and healthier generation.