TASK 2: In the past, people used to travel abroad to look for many differences from their home country. Nowadays, cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar. What are the reasons? Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In these days, many cities becoming identical, whereas in the past, people used to travel to experience unique cultural differences. This transformation mainly driven by the spread of well-known industries and global media. While such developments offer convenience for people, I believe that this leads to the disappearance of unique cultures.

The similarities of many places offer significant benefits for international travelers and businesses. For tourists, visiting a foreign country became more stress-free activity as they can easily find familiar foods and an identical place to stay which makes visitors more comfortable. Furthermore, it benefits the global economy because standardizing business environment makes it much easier to work with international industries and gives a chance to invest and operate in different countries. Another reason is that the social media platforms such as Instagram, Tik Tok, and Facebook which expose global audiences to the same trends, fashion, and styles.

However, the drawbacks of this trend are much more significant. The main disadvantage is that the cultural degradation. When every city looks the same, historical architectures, unique languages, and ancient traditions are replaced by modern colorless glass buildings and the lifestyle of western countries. This makes international travel really boring because tourists no longer get to experience anything unique and different from their home country. Additionally, large famous global corporations often drive small local businesses out of the market – damaging the local economy.

In conclusion, the main reasons for cities becoming identical are the rise of global corporations and media. Although this offers convenience and tourists and benefit global exchange, I believe that the loss of cultural identities makes the world much less interesting place.