The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In 1880, the first car appeared on British roads for the first time, 212 years later the amount of vehicles increased dramatically to 29 million vehicles. International laws then introduced to control car ownership and use. Furthermore, many people believe that alternative transportation should be encouraged. I completely agree with the idea to control car ownership and use, as well as encouraging alternative transportation. Excessive vehicles can bring serious problems to our environment, therefore we need to find a solution.

One of the problems caused by excessive vehicles is air pollution. Air pollution is a major problem in our environment. There are many bad impacts from air pollution, such as making people sick, increasing the possibility of acid rain etc. Excessive vehicles also can increase the amount of carbon dioxide in our atmosphere, which can lead to greenhouse effect. The greenhouse effect is a major problem on our planet, it can cause global warming. Because of these problems, we need to find a solution, and many people believe that encouraging alternative transportation and international laws to control car ownership can be a great solution.

Alternative transportation, such as public transportation, is effective to reduce excessive vehicles. By using public transportation, people are less likely to use their own vehicles. Therefore, governments should encourage the use of alternative transportation. For example, the government should provide better facilities for people that use public transportation and provide special lanes for public transportation to pass for reducing journey time. By this solution, people are likely to use public transportation rather than their own vehicles. International laws that control car ownership are effective to reduce the amount of excessive vehicles, because it can make people think more before they buy new vehicles. For instance, governments make a law that tax for car ownership is increasing, therefore people have to think more before buying a car.

In conclusion, excessive vehicles can bring serious problems to our society such as air pollution, by providing alternative transportation and introducing international laws to control car ownership and use are effective to reduce the excessive vehicles.