Some people think that is more effective for student to study in a group while other believe that is better for them to study.

The question whether students study better in groups or individually has sparked debate n recent years. While both can be efficient for different types of people, I personally believe studying alone is more beneficial.

Studying in a group can be beneficial for people who learn by explaining or those who would like to get help from others. There are different kinds of study groups though. Some groups just sit together at a table and each study individually while engaging with each other when they have a question. And some are dynamic groups who actively speak to each other and explain why one case is like that in order to give a different point of view. However, gathering a group of people who have the same attention span as each other can be difficult. This might lead to others getting distracted by that person. Also every individual might not be as passionate or determined as others. This lack might result in the decrease in efficiency.

However, studying individually gives more control to the individual. One knows their own attention span, study habits and best learning method for themselves. They might do 50 minute study blocks and 10 minute breaks whereas in group study this might disturb other’s focus or might be too long for them. Some people might need complete silence whereas some prefer music. This preference is easier to manage in individual studying as for those who prefer silence can go to a library and the others can go to a cafe. Studying alone also means less disruptions since in group studying friends might ask a question or try to talk to you in the middle of a study session.

Moreover, I believe studying alone is more advantageous overall. Group study requires more effort to find a middle ground suitable for everyone. Whereas individual study is flexible and people can do what they need in order to study more efficiently. Positive sides of individual study are greater than group studying when these circumstances are considered.