The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use To what extent do you agree or disagree?

ars are a very popular form of transport all over the world as they are quick and convenient. However, the high number of cars on the roads creates many problems. For this reason, some people think governments should encourage other types of transport or introduce new international laws to limit the number of cars and their use.

Cars are certainly the cause of numerous problems. Firstly, they create air and noise pollution, which cause serious health problems. Secondly, a high number of cars can result in long traffic jams. In addition, every year there are many car accidents, which often involve young people.

There are a lot of other ways to travel which I believe are better than by car. or short distances, such as going to school or work, walking or cycling is often quicker and cheaper than the car. Furthermore, it is not necessary to spend time and money on parking if you walk or use a bike. For longer journeys people could use electric cars because they do not cause pollution and are also a lot quieter.

However, I do not agree with the idea of new laws to reduce car use all over the world. Since everybody wants to be free to use a car, this would be difficult in practice. Moreover, international laws are not always accepted by all countries.

In conclusion, I agree that alternative forms of transport should be encouraged but I do not believe that new laws would be a practical solution to traffic problems.