The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes thought that to control car ownership and use, alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws should be introduced. In my opinion, this is one way to resolve the problem; however, there are drawbacks to this solution.

With the number of vehicles on British roads growing to 32 million in 2020, the introduction of alternative forms of transport will help reduce the number of vehicles on British roads. For example, the introduction of metros and buses is very important for reducing the number of vehicles on British roads, but the problem is that many people have different tasks to do, and it’s difficult to create vehicles that can help people to complete each task. A solution to reduce the number of vehicles on British roads is the introduction of shared cars. Each car has a shared position on a phone app, and thanks to this app, people can book a time slot to drive the car.

Introducing new forms of transport is more important than the introduction of new international laws because without them, issues may arise, such as in the case of an incident while using a shared car; it’s important to know how to drive the car. A clear example of a law is the obligation to install a dash cam on shared cars; this is useful for recreating, in case of an incident, the dynamics of it.

In my view, encouraging new alternatives for transport is very important for reducing the number of vehicles on British roads, but it’s very difficult to create vehicles with many seats to minimise the number of vehicles. A good solution to resolve this is shared cars, but it’s important to introduce international laws for managing vehicles.