Some people think that the media (newspapers) have the right to publish details of people,s private life while others think it should be controlled. Discuss both views.

Certain individuals tend to think that the news outlets and newspapers have the right to report some details of people’s private life, at the same time, others consider it should be under control. In this essay, I am going to give my understanding on this issue.

To begin with, I do not concur with the opinion that the media should publish detail points of people´s life given the fact that all individuals are entitled to privacy. For instance, it is often argued that the world news tend to garble information to serve certain interests, especially in authoritarian states. As a result, a myriad of individuals look at life through rose-coloured glasses. Nevertheless, despite the disadvanteges of world media, it also has advantages. To my understanding, it widens our outlook, meaning that we can receive infromation from various sources, and we may develop our ability to critical thinking skills.

On the one hand, some argue that inhabitants should know everything about elites and superstars because most of them exert a profound influence on local and global trends. In addition, it is also evident that the vast majority of elites have power and control a prohibitive amount of capital. For example, I remember when I was young The media decided to publish an article about corruption in Ukraine, which concerned mainly Viktor Yanukovych, the Ex-President of Ukraine at that time. This information caused a stir within the country. Moreover, a lot of foreigners became aware of him and the scandal.

In conclusion, while I accept that the media plays an important role in exposing wrongdoing by public figures, I believe there should be stricter controls on reporting purely private matters of non-public individuals. Governments need to find a balance between press freedom and the protection of privacy.