The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The first car was seen on British roads in 1888, with a prediction for the future that the UK will have 29 million cars on the roads. It is widely believed that the government should encourage people to use alternative forms of transport, sharing responsibility with international law to control ownership. I strongly agree with this view, as both play a vital role in reducing traffic on the roads and avoiding complex problems that may affect society negatively.

To begin with, the government should facilitate citizens’ everyday lives by establishing a strong and stable public transportation system, reducing traffic congestion by offering affordable prices to encourage them to use it. Moreover, it could also improve mobility in the streets, so people can save time and reach their destinations quickly. For instance, public transportation will definitely contribute to residents’ budgets while they would simply depend on it.

Another important point is that international law should take responsibility in this case by controlling ownership, so one solution is to put a limit on ownership, as they cannot own more than two vehicles. Furthermore, they could also educate individuals to take up environmentally friendly transport as a hobby, such as bicycles, scooters, and electric bikes; all these will protect the environment and minimise carbon emissions.

All in all, the essay has discussed that the government and international law play a vital role in encouraging and controlling individuals in societies. In addition, it is a shared responsibility which makes a difference between strong countries.