Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes, entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people think that giving children the chance to choose freely what to eat, wear or play with, will make them selfish adults. However, I agree with those who find that providing them with such space is essential to their upbringing. As it will help them grow strong personalities.

On one hand, many fear letting their children decide for themselves. as they argue that the end result of this is self-absorbed adults. who only focus on their desires. and do not consider others’ and the overall circumstances. For instance, if a child is always purchasing the toys they want without considering their price and the ability of parents to afford them, they may become an adult that can’t compromise or live according to their financial status. as they didn’t learn to put much consideration on other factors that affect the situation when making decisions.

On the other hand, supporters of allowing children to have such freedom. look at this as an opportunity to strengthen their personality. as it’s the only way to create an independent identity. this is because they learn to make decisions without relying on their parents. in addition, it will make them build their own interests and passions. for example, forcing a child to play with certain toys, when they prefer musical ones, can prevent them from exploring this interest and even nurture their talent.

In conclusion, while some think the result of making children choose on their own, is self-centered adults who ignore anything but their desires, I support who consider this an important skill to learn. as it will assist them in growing a stronger personality. and ultimately become adults who won’t settle to what doesn’t suit them.