Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people claim that the government should waive college tuition fees, irrespective of students’ socio-economic background. From my perspective, I am in disagreement with the given statement.

On the one hand, there is no doubt that the provision of free-of-charge higher education can provide certain noteworthy benefits. One of the most prominent advantages is to facilitate a more sustainable and comprehensive country. Indubitably, pursuing college typically demands a wealth of money. Therefore, when the government makes university free of charge, more students, especially those who come from underprivileged families, would potentially stand a better chance of getting access to higher education, thus, this might presumably act as a catalyst for a more educated workforce, proportionately engendering a thriving economy.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned upside, it is also undeniable that subsidizing college education can generate distinctly manifest drawbacks. The most intrinsic disadvantage is wreaking havoc on society. Irrefutably, when wholly subsidizing tertiary education, the government would potentially be financially incapable of pouring public expenditures into other crucial factors, consequently, which may likely act as a deterrent to the development of the society. Another incontrovertible drawback is to mitigate the education quality. Doubtlessly, more individuals have chances to be exposed to education could be synonymous with the fact that there would likely be increases in sizes of these classes, proportionally, which may probably act as a deterrent for teachers to give out thorough and meticulous care for students, consequently leading to deterioration in education quality.

In conclusion, although the abolition of university tuition may be advantageous to a certain extent by virtue of the sustainable and comprehensive country, I espouse the notion that making university free of charge is incontrovertibly discouraging since this can exert a severely adverse impact on society and education quality.