Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary era, there is an assertion that the authorities should make the tertiary education become free for all students to attend. This essay partly agrees with this statement, citing: this phenomenon has advantageous and disadvantageous aspects in terms of the benefits of students and the economy of the nation.

On the one hand, higher education plays a pivotal role in individuals’ lives. They would be able to form their background knowledge if they were taught at a good educational environment. However, not everyone has a good financial background to attend tertiary education, so the government should take action in making opportunities for them. It will be beneficial for students to orient their career future if they are aware of their competence. Furthermore, universities organize a lot of extracurricular activities, so students can have a chance to take part in it and enhance their interpersonal skills. For example, many universities in Vietnam have many clubs in order to encourage students to attend and advance their social skills. Therefore, it will contribute to a qualified workforce of the nation which will aid the government in developing the whole country.

On the orther hand, I would argue that making tertiary education free for students can have bad impacts on the economy of universities. To elaborate further, the higher educational system would lose their initial investment and professors of that universities would receive inadequate wages if they did not make students pay their tuition fee. Moreover, these universities cannot be able to organize essential extracurricular activities and orientation day because of a lack of investment. Therefore, students cannot be capable of obtaining neccessary skills and forming their background knowledge, which are advantageous for them in the future.

In conclusion, tertiary education should not make it free for all students as it can result in a lack of investment in other essential activities and facilities of that universities.