Some people believe that research into family history is useful for the next generations, while others claim that present and future are more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether there should be research into family history to benefit the next generations or whether the present and future play a much more crucial role in their lives. In my opinion, today and tomorrow are more important to succeed, but it is also good to know about ancestors.

On the one hand, your present and future situation can lead you to a happy life if you want, but your past is not like that – you cannot even change it, especially if it is your ancestors’ life that has no impact on your own. Spending time with your family members in a friendly way and taking happiness from every moment of your life gives you more advantages than searching for family history. Moreover, being interested in the future life that you will live not only encourages you to try hard at present but also makes you care about your children’s lives, while the history of your family cannot add anything valuable to this.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why having information about family history is beneficial for the next generation. Firstly, knowing about your ancestors is a sign of respect to them that does not let them be forgotten, and if you later pass away, your grandchildren will remember you with good thoughts. Secondly, people can take insights from history by knowing their ancestors, and this makes them realize their origin – namely, who their grandfather was and who they are going to be, as children are thought to follow their family’s ethics. Lastly, it is true that in most families there are their own customs that are held annually, and these gatherings can connect family members closely and even help them take a rest from the outside world.

In conclusion, although your present and upcoming life lead you to a successful future, I believe that family history provides some benefits in terms of certain feelings towards them.