Some people believe that scientists have the greatest influence on the world. Other people, however, think that the influence of politicians is greater. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days worldwide influence is a strong instrument that became an object of numerous debates and conflicts. Many people consider politicians as the most powerful individuals in global decision-making, while others disagree and believe in the scientists’ supremacy. From my standpoint, nowadays politicians affect more the modern society and its development in general.

On the one hand, the impact of scientists on the contemporary world and humanity is undeniable. Behind every crucial invention and high-tech device there are many researchers who altered the modernity and the way we all live in. Furthermore, some discoveries affect the economy of many countries in the long-term perspective. For instance, the GPS system, which is inseparable part of global transportation, is elaborated on the Einstein’s theory of relativity. This case demonstrates the power force of scientists in terms of solving worldwide issues.

On the other hand, politicians define the vector of social and economic development. They control almost every sector of the society, including the scientific field in general. The government provides a sponsorship and huge investments, without which it is impossible to conduct any significant research, therefore scientists can be manipulated without even realizing this fact. For example, during the Cold War the nuclear and space fields were invested the most by the Soviet and American goverments due to their arms race in those years.

In conclusion, it is important to acknowledge the impact of scientists and their contribution to the development of mankind, however, the main driving force is in the hands of politicians, who define the global agenda and control many sectors of the economy and society.