Some people believe that students should acquire working experience during their gap year instead of traveling. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people argued that acquiring work experience takes priority over travelling. Although I admit that travelling might be a choice for spending time in a gap year, I believe that acquiring work experience offers more benefits.

On the one hand, travelling is a good way to relax and know oneself. Firstly, students who are often under a lot of pressure, such as their lessons and exams, need to relax to overcome their stress and boost their moods. Travelling can be an interesting choice for students to get to know different places and cultures and unwind during their gap year. Secondly, a gap year is a good time for perspective and reflection, and travelling is the best way for it. Since students who are growing up need to improve in terms of character in addition to study and work, leading to understanding their interests, passions, and career aspirations without the immediate pressure of job responsibilities.

On the other hand, I believe that there are some reasons why students can find work experience more beneficial than travelling. Firstly, their knowledge and experience are expanded in a work environment, as students learn from people in the same field who may have more experience and enhance their social skills such as teamwork and cooperation, as well as field-specific skills, improving work efficiency in the future. Secondly, acquiring work experience provides significant opportunities for students who are looking for a job or further education because they can build strong networking connections in the places where they gained their work experience. This not only allows students to apply for the positions they previously worked in but also potentially receive recommendations to support their applications for other job or study positions.

In conclusion, although travelling can have positive effects on students’ mood, in my opinion, their work experience offers more notable benefits for them.