Some people believe that students should be required to study art and music in school, while others think these subjects are a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that art and music have to be mandatory disciplines in school. This essay agrees completely with that suggestion due to the fact that art subjects often help children to imrove their academic performance and boost their overall personal development.

Firstly, art disciplines provide children and teenagers with the set of beneficial skills, which could be then applied to improve their academic results. In the research, which was conducted in 1990s by a group of scientists, it was emphasized that minors with art and music as the mandatory subjects in schools outperformed the group, which lacked those disciplines in their school programms.

Secondly, studying art and music can have particular effect on general development of an individual. Moreover, it could be proved, that minors, studying art and music, have more extensive knowledge in humanitarian sciences such as history and literature, for instance. This statement was mentioned in the article, published by Al-Farabi Kazakh National University in 2009. What is interesting is that the authors of the article analyzed the grades of the teenagers and concluded that those, who studied art and music in school, did better in applying general knowledge in a wide range of other school subjects.

In conclusion, it is crucial, that all students have to study art and music in schools according to the fact that this helps them to achieve more positive results in their academic performance and allows them to improve their general development in various humanitarian and other fields of knowledge.