Some people believe that students should be required to study art and music in school, while others think these subjects are a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Certain authorities think that art and music lessons are essential for pupils to learn. Others believe learning these subjects are unproductive activity. I completely disagree with this idea, and i believe there are two primary reason for this: development of cognitive abilities and management of stress level.

Firstly, art and music class often requires cognitive abilities and intellectual abilities which is crucial for for pupils. Spending time analyzing music notes or drawing your thoughts on paper greatly improves student’s mental abilities. Furthermore, these type of benefits are incredibly helpful in other subjects and even outside school. For example, my teenage friends who spend their leisure time sketching random ideas or characters have highly increased perception skills which influences their academic performance.

Secondly, Art and music play key role in decreasing stress and depression levels throughout pupils, especially after challenging exam or assignment. Since these subjects require less memorization skills, students use this opportunity to take a break from difficult homework, or avoid academic work stress. For instance, Drawing and illustration, music major students experience lower stress levels than those who are in other fields.

In conclusion, Participating in art and music sessions mostly have vital influence on learners, such as greater improvment in brain abilities rather than considering it a poor use of time, and I believe it improves many mental abilities which are essential for many other fields.