Some people believe that success is about hard work and determination. Others think that success has a connection with money and personal appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people hold a belief that diligence and determination are the two most essential factors leading to one’s success, while others tend to put money and appearance on a pedestal. This essay will identify reasons behind these viewpoints before giving a personal verdict on the matter.

On the one hand, it is understandable why people argue that money and appearance play a vital role in people’s success. One of the main reasons can lie in the privileges and advantages that attractive and rich individuals gain over other people. Children who are born into a privileged family are more likely to have access to a superior learning environment than their impoverished peers. Being sent to the prestigious academic institution which is well-equipped with advanced facilities and highly qualified professionals, children with the higher socio-economic background can be educated in an adequate and effective way, which fosters their personal development, and ultimately increases their likelihood of being successful in the future. Moreover, individuals with an attractive appearance are also likely to be given more opportunities for their professional growth than their less attractive counterparts. This can be proved clearly in the entertainment industry in which young singers or actresses with the gorgeous look are highly appreciated, while unattractive individuals tend to be marginalized.

On the other hand, money and appearance can be overshadowed in terms of determining one’s success in comparison to people’s determination and hard work. The ability to work arduously can go a long way towards helping people to enhance their productivity. Moreover, the admirable trait of diligence can help people gain respect and recognition from other people such as their coworkers and their bosses, which engenders positive feelings of fulfillment and satisfaction among people, and thus motivates them to contribute relentlessly and achieve more success in their professional lives. In addition, people’s commitment to work may assist them to tackle challenges at the workplace and be willing to shoulder demanding responsibilities, which is handy in today’s competitive marketplace. Therefore, devoted individuals can find it easier to succeed despite intense pressure and stress in today’s competitive working environment.

In conclusion, money and appearance may facilitate one’s success as they give individuals an advantage over other people. However, desirable traits such as determination or resilience may assist people to deal with challenges and strive for their professional development, and thus play a key role in ensuring people’s long-lasting success.