Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child’s development while others think that it is important for children to go to school. Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion. Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Education is among the most crucial factor influencing the development of children. While the idea of home-schooling is no longer avant-garde, following a school education system remains significantly more dominant. Each option presents different types of impact on both children and their parents.

Regarding teaching children at home, parents have full control over the study materials and training their children would have, which can be conducive to their development. Topics uncommonly taught at school such as self-defense, negotiation or personal finance can be included by parents over the course of home-schooling, which provides children with practical learning lessons that they would benefit from in day-to-day life as an adult. However, as children staying at home most of the day, parents also need to invest their time and effort in taking care of them, which may not be feasible for most working parents.

Having children going to school, on the other hand, is not only a more convenient option for parents but also a more holistic experience for children’s growth. Since many school systems revolve around a predictable time frame, parents can better manage their time and be more proactive because they know when to drop off and pick up children from school. In addition, by going to school, children will be educated by professionally trained teachers who enrich their knowledge and ignite their interests on a variety of topics. Moreover, children can develop social skills when encountering people outside of their family circles and making new friends at school.

From my personal experience, going to school has a long-lasting effect on my personal and professional development. Thanks to my dedicated teachers, I discovered my passion in science at a young age, leading to my decision to major in Mathematics in college and work in the technology industry. While at school, I also met many of my closest friends who have positively shaped my personalities and stayed with me through thick and thin from childhood. With the major advantages mentioned above, I support children to go to school for a well-rounded learning opportunity and character development.