Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

It is believed by the community that the punishment ought to be the same whether the crime they done were happened accidently or not, while others feel that the criteria of punishment should be decide after considering what type of offence has done and why it was made. In this essay, I will discuss the both norms with reasons and examples and give my opinion.

There are a few reasons why fixed punishment should be beneficial. The first and foremost thing is that it is not only cheaper but also simpler to maintain crime free society. To make it more clear, If the law decide the firm punishment for each and every offences, neither they would need trails in the court nor they have to waste their time and money. Furthermore, knowing penalty in advance could make a significant depletion in the number of lawbreakers. For example, due to having a death penalty for murder and rape in Gujarat, only 0.5 % cases could be seen in this state. Hence, some individuals feels that fixed sentence for all crimes should be built.

On the other hand, some people think that the government may become unfair in some situations in the regarding of decipline. To elaborate it, the penalty should not be the same for murder and accidental killings, because these two situations have a huge difference. Additionally, the law may loss the trust of the community. For instance, in my society, one girl attack on one boy, who was trying to kidnap her, was died, it was considered in self defense so the law became a fairer with her and all citizens respected this decision.

In conclusion, I opine that although Pity crimes such as graffiti and speeding could have similar penalties, serious crimes like murder should be dealt with individually.