Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

While some people advocate that a predetermined standardized penalty should exist for every crime, others support the idea that the final judgment should take into consideration the specific reasons for committing the crime. This essay agrees that careful analysis of personal intent and circumstances leading up to a crime should be part of the judging procedure.

All criminal cases are different; therefore, they should be evaluated on their unique details to ensure fair judgment. In addition, understanding that life’s adversities, such as an emergency, may have limited a person’s options is crucial. Therefore, it is agreed that each case should be thoroughly investigated; only then can clear distinctions between a person’s cause and punishment be made. For instance, false charges were filed against the Menendez brothers, accusing them of murdering their parents to inherit their wealth. After further investigation, psychologists assigned to each brother ensured that both had experienced severe trauma during their childhood, leading them to believe that killing their mother and father was the only way to feel safe.

Nevertheless, many believe that a fixed sentence should be assigned for each type of crime. Such a rigid system is supported by the logic that all unlawful acts are equal, and there should be no flexibility to avoid discrimination. Furthermore, supporters of this idea expect that orderly behavior will result from enforcing such rules because nobody will be able to avoid the consequences of their actions. This essay disagrees with this statement because this narrow view leads to the incrimination of innocent people. For example, breaking news in the US reported that a woman shot two men, lethally injuring them. Fortunately, the police found out she acted in self-defense, so the charges were dropped. If not for the flexibility of the legal system, this mother protecting her infant would be in jail.

In conclusion, some feel that a thorough investigation process will assist the judicial system in becoming more just, while others feel that punishing each type of crime with fixed terms is the correct strategy. However, I believe that allowing people to be heard and explain their actions will lead to substantial benefits.