some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children) Are you agree or disagree?

There is a debate whether charitable work should be a part of high school programs or not. While some nuances have a place to exist, from my perspective it can bring out many positive traits of students and overall improve their quality of life.

On the one hand, participating in different events can improve their CV. For instance, because nowadays issues related to the environment are really essential, civic engagement in ecological problems can be an impressive source for their portfolio in the future. In addition, some volunteering can improve one’s speaking skills, such as the ability to explain yourself, support the conversation, etc. Last but not least, getting to know different adolescents with diverse personalities,interests, and desires and those who care about the environment and their education can bring many benefits and opportunities, as well as broaden one’s worldview.

On the other hand, the feeling of being forced to participate in social service can induce stress in students. Some of them may be not interested in this or can be busy with the exams , having no time to dedicate to such things. Also, individuals should want themselves to participate in such occasions and be part of environment-friendly communities. Forcing those who do not want to probably will not bring out something positive and willing in the future.

Despite there being some negative aspects, I think this trend will cause more advantages rather than disadvantages. However, it is necessary to promote community volunteering to those who have the desire to participate and do not compel teenagers.