Some people believe the purpose of education is to prepare individuals to be beneficial to society. Others say the purpose of education is to achieve personal ambitions. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the people’s opinions about education are divided into 2 parts. First people think that the education is built to prepare individuals to be useful workers and members of society, while the second groups believe that it is to realize their goals and dreams. And I completely agree with first statement.

Foremost, many of knowledge and theories that are taught in schools are outdated and could not be used in real-life experience. Only with the knowledge about particular subjects, it is hard to succeed nowadays, as the main values of person now are generating creative ideas, realize them, personal and soft-skills mostly. As a result, many of graduated excellent students either cannot find job or work at the same conditions and salary for years. The reason for that is that they focused only on education at school, without gaining personal and creative foundational skills.

Secondly, the education at school often does not refer to majors and spheres. Schools give students theoretical foundation in science, math and other subject, but do not help with practice. For instance, someone’s major may be computer science, but instead of teaching its foundations and coding, teacher would do focus on math’s problems and patterns. It creates a barrier for student, as the only sources of learning what they are interested are either internet or additional courses. Mark Zuckerberg and Bill Gates could be great examples, as they both dropped out of Harvard and decided to run their own startups.

To conclude, I strongly agree that education cannot give strong knowledge for real-life, as person can learn and fulfill ambition through mistakes and experiments.