Some people prefer to spend their lives doing the same things and avoiding change. Others, however, think that change is always a good thing. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While many people are justifiably resistant to the idea of change, others embrace it as a driving force for growth. In my opinion, change is not inherently progress and should not be pursued in all situations.

Those who argue in favor of change point out that when a person changes, they are likely to grow in a positive direction. This is evident as a person grows through stages of childhood and adolescence and becomes more mature and intelligent. The same fact applies when a person is an adult as reconsidering one’s biases, opinions, and habits can lead to healthy, upward personal development. One further instance of this relates to relationships. A person who has experience with multiple relationships will likely have developed their emotional intelligence and ability to be a healthy partner to someone else.

However, change is not necessarily related to personal growth. This fact is best illustrated through the everyday examples. A person who changes jobs is not guaranteed to learn more in a new position or company and may even come to regret moving on. It is more likely that someone who remains at a single job will be able to progress at that company into a variety or roles and grow. This is also the case when it comes to travel or moving to a new home. Individuals who travel learn more about the world but may neglect their own personal growth as a consequence. By staying in one city or country, a person can better understand themselves and their neighbors and make deeper and longer-lasting personal progress.

In conclusion, despite the fact that change can be a catalyst for healthy personal growth, it should not be regarded as intrinsically positive. Individuals should seek to grow as people but not always alter the material circumstances around them.