Some people say that a lot of scientific research done today is a waste of time and money. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that scientific advancements are neither meaningful contributions nor worthy of the time and funds poured into them. In my opinion, this is a fundamentally flawed assessment, as meaningful scientific progress is something mandatory to drive our society forward, regardless of the resources it might consume.

On the one hand, it is understandable that some raise concerns about it, as institutions might risk squandering money on impractical scientific research. Scientific explorations are considered “meaningful” precisely when they offer tangible benefits for human society, such as eradicating poverty, alleviating diseases, or reducing social injustice. Such discoveries either lay the bricks for later innovations or expand already existing frameworks, both of which criteria, however, point directly to the “practicality” of the research – its ability to enrich the experience of living. A scientific exploration can be futile if it fails to have progressive effects on society, like a psychological experiment that offers zero new insight into the human psyche, thereby making investments go down the drain.

With the aforementioned definition in mind, it is undeniable that scientific research is inextricably tied to the progress and safety of our civilization. Stripped of all technology and tools, humans are fundamentally fragile creatures with little defense against the environment’s hostility. This vulnerability has catalyzed science – our way of understanding what the world has to offer and utilizing such elements to ensure our own survival. Without scientific research, humans risk becoming stagnant and losing touch with reality, which undermines our survival. Therefore, in my opinion, the time and money spent on scientific research are, to all intents and purposes, long-term investments rather than wasteful expenditures.

To recapitulate, even though it is correct that scientific advancements are sometimes not worth the investments, it is only because such discoveries serve no purpose in benefitting our race’s survival. Scientific progress is an indispensable cornerstone of our race; therefore, it should be channeled with precision, rather than suppressed and blamed due to the resources it consumes.