Some people say that in the digital age, theatres and cinemas are no longer important as people can watch all the entertainment they want online. Others argue that theatres and cinemas are still important both economically and culturally.

There are conflicting views on whether theatres and cinemas are not crucial for people since viewers have an access for online content in the digital era. I believe that these places can contribute to development of economy and culture by giving individuals an opportunity to gather with others who have the same taste or interest.

On the one hand, some people claim that the importance of theatres and cinemas is low since many people can consume the same content through online platforms, watching it for free. Consider huge platforms like VK in which users can share free versions of any film or play, making it convenient for individuals to avoid charges. However, I think that these two public places are in demand because the greater portion of viewers choose to go to the cinemas and theatres instead of staying at home. Even though, it seems like people have an access to anything that they would like to watch online.

On the other hand, it can be argued that theatres and cinemas still play important roles for a country’ economy and culture. For example, in India, where Bollywood is the most prominent film industry that brings millions of citizens together based on their interests, contributing directly a considerable portion of its revenue to the country’s economy. Furthermore, Europe countries that are well-known for their theatres welcome fans of ‘Romeo and Juliet’, allowing their viewers not only to be a part of their culture but also to watch the play together with like-minded people. I agree with this argument because an opportunity to watch all content online is not able to offset all economic and cultural impact of going there physically.

In conclusion, although people can easily watch their favourite movies and plays at home through online platforms, I believe that going for real plays and films can connect many people with same interests, fostering the country’s cultural and economical sides at the same time.