Some people say that in the digital age, theatres and cinemas are no longer important as people can watch all the entertainment they want online. Others argue that theatres and cinemas are still important both economically and culturally.

Some people believe that public entertainment centres such as cinemas and theatres are no longer relevant, given that all performances and movies are available online. Others argue that theatres and cinemas serve as a cultural symbol and commercial enterprise, which is why they remain crucial. In this essay I will discuss both standpoints before presenting my personal opinion that watching performances and films in the traditional way evokes authentic emotions in people which cannot be replicated digitally.

I agree that since the advent of gadgets, we have gotten a valuable substitute for visiting entertainment centres. On platforms such as YouTube and Netflix, people receive an extended choice of songs, movies, series and live broadcast shows. These are available at a competitive cost or for free and remove the need to wait extra time. Indeed, statistically, the number of people visiting cinemas and theatres has decreased compared to the past, as many individuals opt for convenience, with the opportunity to watch videos from any place and pause or continue them at any time. I concur with the notion that these developments have significantly streamlined our lives in terms of time-efficiency and comfort, as well as provided inclusive opportunities to watch entertainment for people who did not have this opportunity before.

That being said, I completely disagree that these places of cultural and economic value are no longer needed and should be closed down. Historically, theatres are associated with an official ceremony, where guests dress up according to the dress code, discuss the art, and introduce their cultures and traditions. Meanwhile, cinemas have shown their timeless relevance, appearing as one of the most versatile and popular ways of spending time with friends or family outdoors, turning attention from the ubiquitous digital world. What is more, centres of entertainment serve as a commercial income for large companies, and marketing specialists are introducing more and more inventions to attract public attention. A pertinent case in point are entertainment centres across the world streaming World Cup 2026 on large screens for the public, bringing people together and attracting more customers.

Despite the fact that online platforms enable us to absorb any content without limits, it does not deny the fact that cinemas and theatres play a crucial role for traditions and businesses. Moreover, I think that their main value is that they bring people together and provoke authentic emotions that cannot be replicated at home.