Some people say that in the digital age, theatres and cinemas are no longer important as people can watch all the entertainment they want online. Others argue that theatres and cinemas are still important both economically and culturally.

In today’s modernized world, films and cinemas have changed a lot; one significant change is that online platforms are more preferred because it is easier to access, with a variety of content to choose from. Some individuals argued that on-site movie services are still important to both cultural and economic aspects. I firmly agree with the statement since theatres and cinemas have provided both career opportunities and societal functions for many people over the years.

On the one hand, online platforms are what the audiences prefer due to the significant advantages, such as subscription payment, which gives customers access to various entertainment options to select from both movies and TV series, for example, streaming platforms like Netflix and Disney Plus. These websites contain over a hundred movies to choose from, with prices lower than a movie ticket. The only drawbacks are that these online platforms contain different movies, and the upcoming movies need months before audiences can watch them online. That being said, individuals may need to pay for various subscriptions if the preferred movies are on different platforms, and theatres remain the first choice for upcoming movies.

On the other hand, the movie business, such as Hollywood and Bollywood, is the main reason why cinemas are still giving career opportunities. One Hollywood movie, like Marvel and DC movies, potentially provides thousands of people with jobs and financial stability. From a cultural perspective, watching movies on-site has become one of the essential things in a significant number of people’s lives. For example, the feeling of watching new movies firsthand and discussing them after the session is what drives people to go watch movies in the theatre, fostering emotional connections and cohesion.

In my view, while streaming provides the aspect of being easier to access and much more affordable, physical media sustains the communal, economic, and cultural fabric of society. Therefore, supporting these venues remains crucial even in the digital age