Some people say that in the digital age, theatres and cinemas are no longer important as people can watch all the entertainment they want online. Others argue that theatres and cinemas are still important both economically and culturally.

People hold different views about how theatres and cinemas are treated by society. While some claim that individuals can watch all of that content at home using online platforms, others think that theatres and cinemas are highly beneficial both economically and culturally. I would argue that, although online applications allow people to watch the same movies at home, theatres and cinemas can teach younger generations how to respect history and increase employment opportunities.

On the one hand, online platforms offer the same content at the same time to people due to the substantial increase in technology over the last decades. Today, many streaming applications are accessible to users to check the latest movie or series updates regardless of their current location. For instance, platforms, namely Netflix and Eve, offer a large variety of different subscriptions, which are affordable, giving an opportunity for users to watch their favorite actors and movies online. Hence, they are likely to see upcoming movies earlier than others.

On the other hand, theatres and cinemas are critical to the preservation of the economy and culture. Economically, cinemas are one of the most profitable sectors for the nation. For example, promoting national movies with a strong plot and cast can be advantageous to the country’s economy because the film industry creates thousands of jobs, ranging from production crews to hospitality staff in cinemas. Culturally, theatre scenes are of paramount importance to the description and the discussion of themes regarding a country’s history and historical events. Consequently, ensuring that young people can enhance their historical awareness and protect national heritage.

In conclusion, while online applications provide comfortable access to movies, I believe that theatres and cinemas can affect our society positively by preserving historical heritage and offering new jobs.