Some people say that in the digital age, theatres and cinemas are no longer important as people can watch all the entertainment they want online. Others argue that theatres and cinemas are still important both economically and culturally.

In the cutting-edge technology era there is a debate whether to watch theater performances and movies at home or at the cinema and theatre in social places. If some claims, that is efficient to watch them online, I believe it is important for cultural awareness to watch at theatre and cinema.

Nowadays, online platforms like Netflix, Movie sites, Youtube are developed, so it is easy to watch anything you want at home. People find that leisure activity pleasant, because they can watch anytime which is comfortable. Take usual employers for example, they sleep 8 hours, work 9h hours, and spend 1-2 hours to get to the job. At the end, only 4-5 hours is left for other activities. This is really short time where you choose whether to spend. As a result individuals choose to do many things at the same time by watching films, spending time with family, doing extra work, going to the gym. However, I believe that by multitasking people just lose their focus and burn out at the end.

Watching theatre from the first hand, is not only looking what they are doing, it is about feeling emotions and being at the moment. Through being at the moment people better understand what is going on, and it may help them increase their social awareness. The online platforms cannot translate the exact felling from TVs like you watch it through theatre and cinema. Although, it helps people socialize and share their emotions. After some scene they can talk about it which makes them closer.

In conclusion, even if it is efficient to use online resources for watching shows, in my opinion it is better to watch them from the first hand to understand the true meaning and gain something more.