Some people say that parents should place restrictions on the time their children spend watching TV and playing games and encourage them to spend this time reading books. Do you agree or disagree?

The children who lived in the modern world when they were borned, were called “Gene Alpha” or “digital native”. They accessed the Internet and modern devices since they were a child and spent too much time with mobile phones and tablets. Some people believe that parents should limit the time which children spend watching TV and playing games and encourage them to spend this time reading books. From my perspective, I agree that children should be placed restrictions on the time they spend.

Spending a significant amount of time watching TV and playing games brings negative effects on children. Firstly, children can have eye problems if they are in front of a screen for a long time. Blue light from devices may impact the children’s eyes when they are playing games and watching TV, so that it leads to many diseases such as eye strain or lack of seeing ability. Spending too much time on screen not only affects health but also has negative impacts on relationships around children. Spending too much time using the Internet means less time going outside and playing with friends or family. In addition, children may lack social skills and not have good behaviour with each other.

Spending more time reading books can lead to many positive effects for children. If children spend time reading books, they can gain more knowledge about the world. When reading books, especially educational books, children can know more about the world around them such as history, nature, other cultures, and so on. Moreover, when reading books, children naturally improve their skills and emotions which will be helpful for them in the future such as curious, creativity. Last, a lot of studies and experts show that reading books before going to sleep is very good for the brain even for children or adults. After only about ten, twenty minutes reading books before going to bed, children can feel relaxed and sleep properly.

In conclusion, spending time reading books is not time for playing games or watching TV. Children and “digital native” should spend less time on modern devices and have more time for other hobbies such as reading books.