Some people say that sports play an important role in society. Others, however, think that it is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

The phenomenon of sports has become ubiquitous across the world due to its importance. It has been a controversial issue whether they are a leisure activity or has significant importance in society. In forthcoming paragraphs, I will discuss both viewpoints and shed some light on why I consider the former is more impactful.

Many people consider sports as a leisure sequence, which is true to some extent. The key reason for this belief is, a number of individuals find it hard to indulge in sport because they are not physically fit, and hence, they struggle to take part in them. Moreover, a plethora of persons who do not exercise on a regular basis, avoid sports and think of it as a time-pass activity. One good illustration of this is, almost 60% population in US are against athletics as they are addicted to fast food and are overweight. Consequently, this generation is suffering from health problems like obesity, making it hard for them to participate in sporting realms. In addition to this, majority of masses has no interest in physical activities; games and their enthusiastic spirit do not excite them, thus, they consider physical recreation as hobby. For instance, in Brazil a variety of young girls were more interested in beauty pageants and had no knowledge about their countries’ teams.

In contrast, others are in favour of sport-participation is essential and plays an important role in world. Firstly, they are an excellent way of being fit physically and mentally, making it an essential component of day-to-day life. Furthermore, sportspersons are less at the risk of many critical diseases, such as, heart attack, brain or respiratory difficulties because it helps them in building metabolism to increase immunity towards sicknesses. To cite an example, Yuvraj Singh, and Indian cricketer was suffering from cancer before joining cricket, he admitted that the game helped him to fight his illness by boosting his immunity on the field as he was able to deal with respiratory side-effects during play. Secondly, many sport-events contribute towards social causes: when athletes bring medals for their countries, it is a moment of proud for public. To exemplify, there is a tournament hosted called ‘Homeless Football’, and all the participants are homeless in the event; this helps bring together all the classes of society. A further elaboration is Olympics, where players can win pride for the nation.

In conclusion, it is evident that both statements are true; I believe it is impossible to neglect either point of view. Sport-activities are opposed because some human beings find them hard and dis-interest them, whereas, others support the idea as it is helpful in health and wellbeing and is also a moment of proud for globe. The drift is a mixed bag of pros and cons, but, in my humble opinion, advantages outweigh the disadvantages.