Some people say that sports play an important role in society. Others, however, think that it is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Many individuals believe that sports hold a vital role in the modern world, whereas others would argue that it is just a recreational activity. In my opinion, I am more in favor of the former idea, but in this essay, I will shed light on both viewpoints.

On the one hand, the opinion that sports are nothing more than a recreational activity is true to a certain extent. Firstly, engaging in sports is a type of group activity that people do with their friends because it helps players relax, connect with friends and create memorable experiences. In fact, there are a wide range of sports which serve all genders and age groups. This means that anyone can pick up a new sport and play it for entertaining purpose. Additionally, sports can also nurture many skills necessary for various aspects of life. Sports teach players, especially children, cooperation, communication and problem-solving skills, which are all essential in their future career and daily lives.

On the other hand, there are numerous reasons why I am more convinced that sports hold a fundamental role in society. The main reason is that sports contribute to economic development. Since revenue from the selling of goods and services can help grow the economy of a country. Another reason is that playing sports also promotes community health through improving labor productivity and learning about disease risks. As a result, this can enhance sports players’ quality of life.

To sum up, it is reasonable for some people to think that sports are nothing more than a recreational activity. However, it is my firm conviction that sports is a very essential part of society.