Some people say that television is useful for education, while others say it is useful only for entertainment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some would say that television is beneficial to expand people’s knowledge, while others argue that we just can only use TV for entertainment. Although the latter point is not wrong, this essay believes that television not only brings relaxing programmes but also assists people in learning.

On the one hand, there are many reasons why television creates relaxation rather than education. The main reason is nowadays, most people prefer watching television for relaxing rather than learning new helpful information such as science fields, environment protection, or life skills. They opt to be interested in comedic programmes and feel there is no need to be taught for a better life. As a result, viewers usually neglect educated information on broadcasts because it does not play an important role for them. Another reason contributing to this common opinion is that watchers want programme creators to focus on improving the quality of entertainment channels instead of investing in others, which forces people to pay more as an obligatory bill, resulting in a waste of expenditure.

On the other hand, television can be used as a source of education. This is most conspicuous because, through channels, people can learn lots of things that they have never known before. For instance, National Geographic, a television programme in the United Kingdom, brings pictures, and footage about animals, plants, and natural phenomena from outer lands to people who may never have an encounter with realistic life, which is considered a great chance to explore more about the world. Furthermore, with children, parents can use television programmes to assist them in learning a new language more effectively or show them ways to improve life skills by giving a real situation on television.

In conclusion, television is a device that can provide both entertainment and educational information.