Some people say that television is useful for education, while others say it is useful only for entertainment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A number of people argue that TV is practical for educating people while others are of opinion that it is beneficial just for amusement. While I support the idea of that one of the functions of television is entertaining males, females and children, I am more convinced that it is widely used as a tool that provides information from all over the world.

On the one hand, individuals watch television programmes in their leisure time and this the source of entertaining. That is to say that after the repetitive daily routine as work-home, people are inclined to switch on TV and spend their evenings by watching different shows or series that airs on it. By doing that they are given an opportunity to relax and relieve their stress they have accumulated all day. Otherwise, they tend to get mad and do not get on well with their family. For example, according to the survey in the UK, men and women who do not watch TV after their long work day are more prone to argue with their relatives and became angry. However, I believe it should not mean that television is not functional for providing with information worldwide and educate us.

On the other hand, TV comes up with knowledge that can expand our horizons. This is because there is a plethora of educating shows that air on television, as well as news that tells us what exactly going on in the world. By attentively watching them we can gain more knowledge and become more familiar with the world around us. For example, the TV show “Who wants to be a millionaire?” provides population with any information, from ordinary situations to science subjects, such as physics, chemistry and so on. Therefore, I support this school of thought because television can be the instrument that educates people and issue with what happens in the entire world.

In conclusion, despite the fact that individuals watch TV programmes for relaxing, in my view that is not single purpose of television, it also benefits us with information from all over the globe.