Some people say that television is useful for education, while others say it is useful only for entertainment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While a number of people argue that television is only beneficial for entertainment purpose, others open that it can be used for educational purpose. Bol do the former opinion can be true in some cases, I reckon that television has a significant importance in education. This essay will discuss both perspectives in the following paragraphs along with substantiating my stance.

To begin with, individuals who support the former concept argue that majority of people watch television in order to get entertainment. That is to say, they believe that majority channels available on TV usually broadcast movies, Daily-soaps, and cartoon shows, which are mostly consumed by their audience, in order to get some relaxment from their monotonous lives stress. For instance, according to a report on purposes of television watching by audience revealed that a significant number of people watch TV only for the entertainment.

On the otherhand, a few argue that television can be used for enhancing the general knowledge. This is due to the fact that there are numerous educational TV channels, which broadcast some knowledgeable TV shows, such as programs based on scientific discoveries and animal lives. Additionally, as some society and culture based programs are also available on TV, pipal can learn about the social norms and their importance with the help of these shows. For example, television shows like “yoga study” and “Hindu bhakti” are the extremely popular programs in folks, due to their beneficial content.

In conclusion, despite the fact that majority people use television for entertainment purpose, in my view, it can be used for acquiring education by watching educational TV shows such as scientific programs and socio-cultural programs, as well.