Some people say that television is useful for education, while others say it is useful only for entertainment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some would argue that television is a good tool for educational purposes, while others believe its main goal is to be entertaining. Although we can learn new and interesting things by watching TV, I think it is a passive activity that people look for when they are bored or want to relax.

On the one hand, some media companies offer documentaries and series with educational purposes on TV. On these channels, people can choose from a wide range of programs and learn about different topics such as nature, human health, cooking or history. For example, “Surgeon’s Cut” is a documentary series available on Netflix that takes the spectator throughout the lives of outstanding doctors around the world, explaining their work and contribution to society. However, I believe that the knowledge we get from these programs is limited as it is usually adapted for media purposes.

On the other hand, people usually watch TV to relax or escape from boredom as it is an activity that does not require any physical or intellectual effort. The number of viewers typically increases on weekdays in the evening when people switch the television on to wind down after a long workday. For instance, the popular entertaining program “Big Brother” has accumulated over the years one of the highest viewership rates in numerous countries. Therefore, I am of the opinion that the main purpose of television is for amusement rather than education as the majority of available programs nowadays aim to distract people.

In conclusion, even though we can enjoy some fascinating learning content on different topics on TV, we often prefer to watch programs and series that allow us some unwinding and enjoyment.