Some people spend most of their lives living close to where they were born. What might be the reasons for this? What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Many individuals prefer to spend their lifetime living near where they were born and raised. I firmly think that one of it’s benefits is that they are accustomed to the environment and the cost of living. I believe that it is a negative impact to the physical health and mental well-being.

On the positive side, many people choose to live close to where they were born and raised. This is because many of them are already used to the environment and its cultural shock, this also allows them to be close to their family and childhood friends. In addition, they are typically aware of the cost of living since they were nurtured and raised there, so it will require him to live a slower-paced life and not being pressure to meet up with the standard of living. For some individual like graduated students, bachelors and the newly married this may be a beneficial and practical choice for them.

However, when they spend most of their lives living close to the area where they were born, relocating and adapting in a new environment will be challenging for them. They will choose to remain where they are irrespective of how inconvenient and the negative impact of the environment. For instance, people who are born in Makoko, an urban slum area in Lagos state prefer to reside there with their spouse and kids ignoring issues like air pollution and gas emission. Which may prevent them from seeing the world from a different perspective.

In conclusion, although living close to families, friends and the area where they were born is economical and beneficial, I believe that the disadvantages outweighs the advantages.