Some people think employers should not care about the way their employees dress, but rather the quality of their work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Concerns regarding the way employees dress should not be a primary focus for employers, as the quality and efficiency of their work are far more vital. Although placing excessive emphasis on employees’ clothing may obscure the essence of their responsibilities, encouraging appropriate dress among workers could help reduce inequality and create a lasting impression on clients or consumers.

These days many large companies and organizations place heavy emphasis on dressing, meaning that they require their employees to dress in accordance with their employers’ requests. This tendency, however, might shift the primary focus of employees in numerous ways. One such way is by obliging co-workers to dress formally during working hours. Heads of particular departments within a company might also be required to monitor whether employees are fulfilling these requests, instead of keeping an eye on their productivity and efficiency. This may eventually reduce the quality of employees’ work and lead to many severe consequences within a company.

Nevertheless, such requests might reduce inequality among co-workers. That is to say, when employees are given the freedom to choose what to wear, those from higher working classes may showcase their clothing by dressing differently each day, as can be observed in many companies today. This tendency widens the inequality and gap between employees of higher and lower working classes. This, nonetheless, can be potentially reduced when dressing codes are implemented, ensuring equality between workers.

Dressing formally can also leave a positive impression on consumers and daily visitors, which is crucial when trying to attract more and more clients. When a company’s logo is added to employees’ attire, for instance, companies have the potential to promote their brand further and expand their presence in the global market. Prominent brands such as Samsung and Apple exemplify this trend, since their employees are strictly regulated and monitored regarding their clothing choices. This helps them attract more consumers, as the latter may remember the brand after visiting a shop with fully formally dressed workers.

In conclusion, placing heavy emphasis on dress codes can undermine the importance of employees’ work quality. That being said, it can also help reduce inequality and, at the same time, attract more clients by leaving a lasting impression.