Some people think it is a good thing for senior management positions to have very high salaries compared to other workers of the same company or organisation. To what extent do you agree?

Some individuals are of the opinion that employees who take on top administrative roles should earn more than others working at the same organization. I completely agree with this idea and this essay will discuss why.

To begin with, becoming a senior manager at a company requires that one possess high qualifications such as a masters and doctorate degree. It is only fair that someone with these certificates is paid more salary than those who have only a bachelors degree or below that.

For instance, one of the reasons why the head of the department I work in receives a higher pay than other nurses at the hospital is because, she is the only Doctor of Nursing practice employed there.

Secondly, managers have bigger responsibilities within the organization. They are in charge of recruiting new workers, training them on what is required and also supervising to ensure they carry out their duties effectively. All of these determine the success of the establishment, hence directors deserve more wages than others who work under them. For example, at the hospital I work, the ward manager evaluates newly employed nurses quarterly to ensure they are conforming with the established standards of the facility. Also she provides corrections where necessary. Furthermore, employees who take on lower roles highly depend on administrators, especially in terms of conflict resolution within the workplace and ensuring constant availability of resources needed for work to be done.

In conclusion, senior administrators should be paid more money monthly because they are the main directors, who lead the establishment to success. Also, they usually have more qualifications than those working under them.