Some people think mobile phones should be banned in public places such as libraries, shops and public transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some consider cell phones should not be used in crowded areas such as stores and transport. I partly agree with the given statement, because I believe that different factors determine whether the usage of phones in public places should be stopped or not.

On the one hand, mobile phones are already an undeniable part of humans’ lives. To be more specific, people have gotten used to taking their gadgets with them everywhere. Because they have many functions which help people to save their time and solve difficult tasks easily. Taking students as an example, in libraries, if they are using their phones, it gives them access to find and use many books and resources in a short period. Moreover, there are useful assistances like ChatGPT, that are meant to answer any question and help humans with different topics of life very quickly. Devices not only can help everyone to reply their messages and get they want, but also, they are supposed to make people know their important tasks, as well as, reminders, especially in emergency situations. These factors of phones can be the reasons that people need them everywhere in the modern era.

On the other hand, distractions of phones are getting over in public places such as transport. For example, the sounds of notifications and some apps may sometimes disrupt people. As a result, it leads to encouraging learning mobile etiquette even if some humans might not support this idea. However, there is still a need to have tranquility in public places as some individuals are nervous or sensitive. For instance, in Japan, there is a limit to using phones by bus or metro. This discipline is a good norm of society by which people keep social interaction among themselves rather than seeing life through their phones. Therefore, it is better to set some limits on the use of phones as they develop people’s behaviour in a good way.

To sum up, there are various elements to highlight when discussing the need for gadgets in public areas. And I believe that banning the use of phones can be both good and bad in turn. It may be a good habit if there are limits, but only when it is used truly.