Some people think mobile phones should be banned in public places such as libraries, shops and public transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Recent years have witnessed a boom in access to digital devices in accordance with technological advancements. This has led to the prevailing stance of forbidding the use of mobile phones in public settings, including libraries, stores, and public transportation. This essay will elaborate on my partial disagreement with the given statement.

On the one hand, there are convincing reasons for restricting smartphones in public places. Firstly, the usage of mobile phones in public would give rise to the disruption of peace and concentration. To elucidate, noises from mobile devices can easily disturb the quiet environment of surrounding people. For example, people are subject to frustration when someone talks loudly and continuously on the phone in quiet atmospheres like libraries or churches. By the same token, safety and privacy concerns may arise when phones are used in public places. The rise of unprecedented technology has given rise to cybercrimes, such as doxxing and information theft. Digital device users are prone to having their private information like IDs and bank account passwords stolen through malicious activities in public like hacking or cracking when they are logged into public networks or shared platforms.

On the other hand, using mobile phones in public places has numerous merits that should be taken into account. The first point to mention is that mobile devices provide indisputable convenience and can be a great assistant. Elaborating on this, in settings such as schools or workplaces, people can use smartphones to acquire information at an unmatched speed. Another point worth mentioning is that mobile phones are an exceptional means of communication. Due to their well-established nature, smartphones allow people to connect with their counterparts effortlessly at any time. To exemplify, the invention of mobile phones has revolutionized the way we communicate by granting everyone the ability to connect despite geographical distance.

To recapitulate, notwithstanding certain demerits of using mobile phones in public settings, I am of the opinion that their usage should not be banned. However, it is imperative that everyone be fully aware of the consequences of using their phones in public.