Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Opinions regarding issue of academic courses of university students vary significantly – some think that all sorts of subjects bear importance while other find only the efficient faculties to exist. To express my opinion, I strongly agree with the previous statement as I highly value diversity among individuals in the society.

To begin with, I want to justify the first argument and talk about its pros. While all of our academic activities in schooling systems do not directly put food on our plates, they are immensely necessary for enlightenment and awareness. Some studies show that universities which include courses on cultural studies and aesthetics in their academics contribute to increase in the percentage of liberal graduates with high ethical values. Besides, these courses are necessary for diversification in the society and entertainment industry. Humans are the only intelligent beings who have need for refreshment other than mere primary needs like food and clothing. Moreover, higher education allows an individual to become open-minded and not everyone is interested in the STEM field. Their talents in those areas should be recognized.

I disagree with the people who think learners of higher education only require pragmatic courses. The reason being, people who work in the fields of science and technology are also of humanly nature and they require adoption of some basic ethical principles based on social values and context. Therefore, topics like sociology and philosophy always remain highly significant.

To sum it up, our discussion concluded that different people have different choices and culture or sociology bear same importance and similar impact on our lives as technology. Hence, universities should be able to offer a wide range of academic courses to students for study. Moreover, some courses that help to build life skills should be made compulsory in every faculty.