Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

University education system is one of the most widely discussed topics these

days. Many people believe that college students should be allowed to choose

subjects they like to study. Others think that it is always better to learn subjects

that have relevance in the future and I agree with them. Both views will be

discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, there are people who claim that college students should be

given the privilege of choosing the subjects of study. Usually, the subjects for a

particular course are decided by the university. According to these people,

doing these courses is not effective and this has to change. If students get the

opportunity to choose their subjects, learning will become more interesting for

them. In addition, there are students who have talents in many other fields.

Therefore, this proposed change in the education system will allow them to

enhance their knowledge in a wide variety of subjects and polish their talents.

For instance, if we include some arts and cultural subjects in engineering

courses, this would pave the way for them to explore other fields. Nevertheless,

this will affect the focus and ruin the quality of education.

On the other hand, some people believe that education should be based on

the major subjects of the particular course rather than the student’s interest. In

their view, when students complete their course, they should have a thorough

knowledge of that area. This is only possible if they study the subjects specific

to the stream. Moreover, when we consider the future, competition for jobs will

be very high and industries will hire only the finest talents. For example, a lot of

innovations are happening. New subject topics and research fields have

started to come up resulting in the betterment of technologies. Since the

employment opportunities will be based on this technological knowledge, it is

therefore, highly important that university students should focus more on

studying these subjects for their better future.

To conclude, many people are against studying only core subjects; however, it

is always better to study these subjects and make their fundamentals strong

for a successful future.